Is CBD oil halal? Your questions answered

Is CBD oil legal? Who is eligible to access CBD oil? Is there a limitation for an individual in accessing CBD oil? This article explains if CBD oil is Halal.

Oberbarnscheidt & Miller (2020) states that CBD is classified as a class I substance by the Federal government. It was antipsychotic and caused no addiction or related issues to its user. Moreover, the United Nations Act on controlled substances does not categorize CBD as a substance with potential abuse on its users. Cannabidiol, CBD, is a phytocannabinoid obtained from hemp's leaves, stems, flowers, and roots. Ongoing clinical and animal trials indicate that it may be useful in treating various conditions such as chronic anxiety, depression, psoriasis, inflammation, pain, acne, and effects of aging. Most of these benefits are aided by other compounds found in most CBD oil extracts.


Halal And Haram

According to Islam, things have been divided into two broad categories for Muslims: Halal and Haram. Halal refers to all things that Muslims consider permissible, whereas Haram refers to all things Islam considers forbidden or illegitimate. Haram means "sinful" and refers to all things and actions that are displeasing to God. All Haram activities are strictly prohibited by Islam and are considered a sin if committed by a Muslim. There is a milder term, makruh, which means disliked, but Haram is more commonly used by people when speaking. While actions, behaviors, objects, foods, policies, and others are considered Haram in Islam, the term is most commonly applied to foods and beverages. There is a common misconception that Halal and Haram only apply to foods. It is not the case, and the two categories apply to dietary restrictions and all other aspects of life such as speech, behavior, marriage, and so on.


Is CBD Halal

Because CBD is derived from hemp or cannabis plants, both of which contain amounts of THC (tetrahydrocannabinol), there are questions about its halal and or Haram status. Azam, Abdullah, & Razak (2019) states that while the psychoactive compound in cannabis is not present in CBD products, some Muslims still regard CBD as a haram product in the Islamic faith due to its association with THC's psychoactive properties. So the question is whether CBD products containing no THC, such as CBD isolate and broad-spectrum CBD formulas, are halal. Some Muslim scholars believe that if a CBD product is derived from hemp and does not contain THC or other psychoactive agents, it should be classified as halal and used for health benefits. Others, however, are skeptical, believing that CBD's status as Haram is dependent on the plant from which it was derived (hemp vs. cannabis) and how it was obtained. Furthermore, because non-halal ingredients such as gelatin or alcohol are frequently used in CBD processing, some Muslims argue that they cannot be considered halal because certain ingredients may render them Haram. Because of numerous technological advances in the health food industry, much of the food and drink we consume can now be made with halal-friendly products such as vegetable-based capsules, GMO-free rice paper, and water-based glaze for CBD gummies and candies.


CBD Products That Are Not Considered Halal

While there is some debate about whether or not all CBD products are halal, there is a clear consensus about which CBD products are not halal according to Islamic guidelines. Any CBD product considered to be full-spectrum CBD oil is one example. Full-spectrum CBD products contain whole-plant extracts and an unfiltered amount of cannabinoids, including THC, in their formulation. Even though UK law requires less than 1mg of THC per CBD product container, and US law requires no more than 0.3 percent, an amount that is unlikely to cause any psychoactive reaction, it is still not halal because THC is present. Armanios & Ergene (2018) explain that CBD capsules made with bovine gelatin or other non-halal food-grade capsules will not be considered halal. Even though the gelatin in these capsules does not contain alcohol, it is still non-halal because it is derived from a haram animal. Some CBD edibles, such as gummies, may also be considered Haram if they contain traces of alcohol from the manufacturing process or are made with food dyes derived from animal byproducts. If a CBD product contains any trace of THC, is an animal byproduct, or involves an alcohol-based manufacturing process, it is Haram and not halal.


How To Check If A CBD Product Is Halal

When shopping around for CBD products that one can consider to be halal, try and look out for ones that meet the following criteria:


Broad-spectrum CBD

Broad-spectrum CBD formulations, such as tinctures, creams, capsules, and edibles, contain all of the plant's beneficial cannabinoids and terpenes. However, what distinguishes them as a halal product is that broad-spectrum formulas are refined further to remove any trace of THC and other psychoactive cannabinoids like CBN and Delta-8/9 THC. Broad-spectrum CBD oils typically use an MCT or hemp seed oil carrier oil to improve bioavailability and provide a full-plant CBD experience free of psychoactive effects. These oils are generally regarded as halal.


CBD isolates

CBD isolates are considered the purest because they are free of THC, psychoactive cannabinoids, terpenes, and other plant materials. They can also be 100 percent halal if made with a halal carrier oil such as hemp seed oil or fractionated coconut oil. CBD isolates are frequently used as the foundation for various CBD products, including topical skincare creams, CBD capsules, and CBD gummies. As a result, finding lab reports that confirm the purity of a CBD isolate formula is critical.


Conclusion

CBD is considered halal by Muslims since it is extracted from plants and has beneficial properties that can help in improving human health. CBD does not cause any psychoactive effect on the user, which would otherwise render it Haram. One needs to be careful when purchasing these oils. Always look out for lab reports from credible labs to evaluate the product's contents and the manufacturing process. These are keys tenets in determining whether a product is halal or not.


References

Armanios, F., & Ergene, B. A. (2018). Halal food: A history. Oxford University Press.

Azam, M. S. E., Abdullah, M. A., & Razak, D. A. (2019). Halal tourism: definition, justification, and scopes towards sustainable development. International Journal of Business, Economics, and Law, 18(3), 23-31.

Oberbarnscheidt, T., & Miller, N. S. (2020). The impact of cannabidiol on psychiatric and medical conditions. Journal of clinical medicine research, 12(7), 393.

{}